

Kristy Weber to be first female president of AAOS



The Penn community looks forward to next year with great excitement as our own Kristy Weber will become the first female president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, serving from 2019-2020.

Dr.Weber serves as the Chief of Orthopaedic Oncology here at Penn. Residents look forward to being on her service, where difficult tumor resections and complex limb reconstructions are performed in pediatric and adult patients. She is also the Director of the Abramson Cancer Center Sarcoma Program, which gives residents a first class experience of how to efficiently organize a multidisciplinary team of doctors to provide the highest quality care for patients with complex diagnoses.

A tireless advocate for her patients, she is equally energetic outside of the operating rooms and clinics. She has dedicated herself to guiding the future of orthopaedics having served on the board of directors of the AAOS, American Orthopaedic Association, Orthopaedic Research Society, Musculoskeletal Tumor Society, Ruth Jackson Society and the Connective Tissue Oncology Society. She was also the recipient of the 2006 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award for her work in metastatic bone disease.

There are many challenges on the horizon facing the field of orthopaedics, but we look to the look forward to the future of our profession knowing that it rests in the most capable of hands.



Photo re-printed with permission. Copyright © American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

VOLUME 28, JUNE 2018



2017 Berton Rahn Research Award Recipient: Robert Mauck, PhD



We are proud to report Dr. Mauck was the recipient of the 2017 Berton Rahn Research Award. Dr. Mauck is the Mary Black Ralston Professor of Education and Research in Orthopaedic Surgery as well as the Director of the McKay Orthopaedic Research Laboratory at the University of Pennsylvania. This award, which recognizes young investigators for their contributions to the their field, comes with little surprise to the academic community at Penn given Dr. Mauck's incredibly decorated career, which includes the 2015 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. He is active in numerous national and international

academic organizations and serves on the editorial board for multiple journals, including a recent appointment of c-Editorin-Chief of the new *Journal of Orthopaedic Research - Spine*. Dr. Mauck's lab has served as a launching pad for academic careers of numerous past and present residents. He helps to guide the lab year residents forward with many of them returning to participate as collaborators in translational research. Much of his work focuses on translational tissue engineering of musculoskeletal tissues such as cartilage, meniscus and intervertebral discs, and work from his lab can be found throughout the research sections of this journal.





L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS—President-Elect, American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH)



Dr. Levin was recently elected as the future president of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand. Board-certified in plastic and reconstructive surgery, Dr. Levin is the chairman of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, Director of the Penn Hand Transplant Program, Professor of Surgery in the Division of Plastic Surgery, and the Paul B. Magnuson Professor of Bone and Joint Surgery. Dr. Levin has also previously served as President of the American Society for Reconstructive Transplantation and the American Society of Reconstructive Microsurgery. His expertise in the field of microsurgery and exemplary leadership have been cited as reasons for his appointment as President.

The ASSH was established in the years following WW II with 35 hand surgeons from several hand centers across the country, under the leadership of Dr. Sterling Bunnell. Its first meeting was held at the Blackstone Hotel in Chicago in January, 1946 and has since grown every year to become a predominant surgical society. The ASSH works to advance hand and upper extremity surgery through research and education, as well as advocating on behalf of both patients and practitioners. It is this legacy that Dr. Levin inherits and will continue to foster during his time in office.



Leading by example: Dr. Levin offering to be the "patient" while visiting professor Dr. Luis Scheker teaches the residents how to examine the DRUJ

VOLUME 28, JUNE 2018



Louis Soslowsky, PhD-H. R. Lissner Medal



The H. R. Lissner medal is awarded by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) in recognition of outstanding achievement in the field of bioengineering. The award was established in 1977 and named in honor of H. R Lissner, a professor at Wayne State University, for his work in the field of biomechanics. This award is given to one individual per year and is the single highest honor that can be achieved in the field of bioengineering.

Dr. Soslowsky received the award in 2018 "for outstanding contributions toward the understanding, prevention and treatment of musculoskeletal injuries to tendinous and ligamentous tissues; and for internationally recognized leadership in the biomechanics community". He is set to deliver a plenary lecture and receive his award at the World

Congress of Biomechanics in Dublin, Ireland in the summer of this year.

Dr. Soslowsky is the Associate Dean for Research Integration at the University of Pennsylvania and the Founding Director of the Penn Center for Musculoskeletal Disorders. His lab operates as part of the McKay Orthopaedic Research Laboratory. When asked about his research, Dr. Soslowsky states, "My group is involved in a number of exciting studies in tendon and ligament injury and repair. We are making strong efforts in understanding fundamental structure-function relationships, that is, how the composition and organization of a tissue relate to its mechanical function". He continues to work on translating basic science bench research into clinically applicable diagnoses and treatments.

