Mission & Vision

The University of Pennsylvania Orthopaedic Journal (UPOJ) is an annual peer-reviewed orthopaedic journal organized and distributed by the residents of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania. Our mission is to reflect upon the preceding academic year by publishing high-quality original research from around the country as well as review articles discussing current controversial topics in orthopaedic surgery. We are proud to announce that the Journal recently had its 27th year of publication, with a circulation volume of approximately 2,000.

Editorial Board


Blair Ashley, MD
Daniel Gittings, MD


Website Re-Design Team

Daniel Steinberg, MS
Vishal Saxena, MD
Joshua A. Gordon, MD

Faculty Advisors

Samir Mehta, MD
Jaimo Ahn, MD, PhD


Immediate Past Editors

Cody Hillin, MD
James Friedman, MD

Section Editors

Kristin Buterbaugh, MD
Adnan Cheena, MD
Michael Eby, MD
Mark Hasenauer, MD
Luke Lopas, MD
Tyler Morris, MD
Matthew Sloan, MD
Andrew Tyler, MD, PhD
Chia Wu, MD, MBA
Nicole Zelenski, MD
Zachary Zimmer, MD


Gwilym C. Davis Level

($2.5k and up)

Globus Medical
Philadelphia Orthotics and Prosthetics
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Arthur Bruce Gill Level

($1K and up)




Chairman of Orthopaedic Surgery


L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS

Emeritus Professors of Orthopaedic Surgery

Carl T. Brighton, MD
Ernest J. Gentchos, MD

R. Bruce Heppenstall, MD
Marvin E. Steinberg, MD

Professors of Orthopaedic Surgery

Vincent Arlet, MD
John L. Esterhai, MD
Frederick S. Kaplan, MD
Robert L. Mauck, PhD

Eileen M. Shore, PhD
Louis J. Soslowsky, PhD
Keith L. Wapner, MD
Kristy Weber, MD

Associate Professors of Orthopaedic Surgery

David J. Bozentka, MD
Wen Chao, MD
David L. Glaser, MD
G. Russell Huffman, MD, MPH
Eric L. Hume, MD
Craig Israelite, MD
John D. Kelly IV, MD

Gwo-Chin Lee, MD
Samir Mehta, MD
Charles L. Nelson, MD
Ling Qin, PhD
Brian J. Sennett, MD
David R. Steinberg, MD

Assistant Professors of Orthopaedic Surgery

Jaimo Ahn, MD, PhD
Keith Baldwin, MD, MPH, MSPT
James L. Carey, MD, MPH
Derek J. Donegan, MD
Nathaniel Dyment, PhD
Daniel Farber, MD
Xiaowei Liu, PhD

Atul F. Kamath, MD
Andrew F. Kuntz, MD
David G. Nazarian, MD
Neil P. Sheth, MD
Harvey Smith, MD
Lachlan J. Smith, PhD
Miltiadis Zgonis, MD